Rockfish Review April 2018

The Rockfish Review is hitting the streets yesterday and today and will be distributed at local businesses, here on the web site and on our Facebook Page: Rockfish Community Board and Email List ! What’s inside is, Rockfish Community Board Meeting March 8, Rockfish Community Chamber, Legal Beagle, Sports, Voting Dates and Times, Upcoming Events, NC Cooperative Extension–Raising Backyard Chickens and many great advertisers. Make sure you pick up a new copy at Rockfish Pack, Ship and Print, 2950 Lindsay Road and others locations. THE NEXT Rockfish Community Meeting will be April 12 with light food at 6:30 p.m. and meeting will start about 7:00 pm. BECOME INVOLVED IN YOUR COMMUNITY and Make It Better !! http://www.rockfishreview.wordpress.com

Support the Advertisers that Support your Community: Bleecker Auto Group, Rockfish Pharmacy, Jones Septic Tank Service, EXIT Realty Preferred, Farm Bureau Insurance, Athlete’s Choice Area Stars, Rockfish Pack, Ship and Print, Rogers & Breece Funeral Home, Rockfish Church of God, http://www.nunnboys.com, Rockfish Speedway and Bee Gone Hot Water Pressure Washing.

image1

 

image2

 

image3

 

image4

Advertisements

Rockfish Review Jan 2018

Welcome to the Rockfish Review for January 2018. We are publishing our first printed edition of the Rockfish Review this week and the hard copies are hitting the streets as we speak. 500 Copies will be distributed to 18 business in Hoke County and we can add your business to the list of you like? just let us know. Our first distribution is going to our Rockfish Community Chamber Members and the businesses that placed advertisements in them for this issue. and THEY ARE; Farm Bureau Insurance, Athlete’s Choice, Rockfish Pack and Ship, Rogers and Breece Funeral Home, Rockfish Church of God, Nunnboys.com, Rockfish Speedway and Bee Gone Hot Water Pressure Washing. ALSO, our newsletter will be posted here on Rockfish Review, sent out through our email list, Facebook Page: Rockfish Community Board and the Nextdoor Private Social Network.

The next Rockfish Community Meeting will be February 8, 2018 with light food beginning at 6:30 p.m. and Community Meeting will be at 7:00 p.m. Topics of discussion are; Special Guest, Sheriff Annex Grand Opening, Food Drive, Memorial Day Celebration (Vendors Needed), Fund Raiser Tickets being sold, Newsletter story ideas and advertisements, Suggestion box, Voter Registration, Political Forum TBA, Update on Incorporation and Public Comments. The meeting will be at the Town Hall Building (Rockfish Uhaul) 2950 Lindsay Road, Raeford, NC 28376 in the community of Rockfish. Please THANK OUR Sponsors and Advertisers for helping start this new information outlet and our Rockfish Community Chamber. IF ANYONE would like to be involved in the chamber CALL 910-479-4775 or email them at rockfishchamber@gmail.com. See our Newsletter Below.

Rockfish Review Jan 2018 (Update)

During the last Rockfish Review, we accidentally left out two of our newest Rockfish Community Chamber members. Camp Rockfish and Castle Hoke are two new members of the newly formed chamber. Make sure you visit their web site; www,camprockfish.org and http://www.castlehoke.com.

downloadCastleHoke

The January 11th Rockfish Community Meeting was held and approximately 65 people attended the event catered by Fuller’s BBQ. NC Senator Ben Clark, Hoke County Commissioner Harry Southerland attended the event. Members of the media from The Fayetteville Observer and The News-Journal were in attendance. Here is the link to the Fayetteville Observer story: http://www.fayobserver.com/news/20180111/town-of-rockfish-hoke-community-considering-it      NEXT MEETING February 8, 2018 and light food will begin at 6:30 p.m.

RockfishIncJan

rockfishinc2

Rockfish Review Jan 2018

Rockfish Community Board Meeting will be Thursday  January 11, 2018 with light food at 6:30 p.m. and meeting starts about 7 pm. This week we are working with Fuller’s BBQ to help cater the event but it will not be a full meal, just finger foods.

CommunityMeetJpg

Rockfish Review Newsletter: The First Edition of the Rockfish Review printed newsletter is in the works. We plan to publish 500 copies thru our business partners and have ad space on them for $150 (Business card Size, this is a change from previous post) and ad will run January thru March in print, online, Facebook and email list. Proceeds go to the Rockfish Community Chamber and for cost of printing.

ChamberLogo2018

Rockfish Community Chamber: CHAMBER MEMBERSHIPS: There are 3 levels of memberships in the Rockfish Community Chamber. For Profit Business: $55, Non-Profit Business $45, Rockfish Community Chamber Friend $25. Here are our Current List of (15)  Members:  Tolston Tee’s, Hoke Auto Outlet, Shepley Automotive, Family Chiropractic, Rockfish Pharmacy, PPI Insurance, Brownies 24-Hour Towing, Delphi Tactical, Bee Gone Professional Bee Extraction, Cakes and Koloskies, Wilson’s Appliance Repair, ABS Consulting, Derris Small-Individual, Preston Jones-Individual and Friends of the Hoke County Library. If you would like to join, please call 910-479-4775 or email rockfishchamber@gmail.com

Meet the Rockfish Chamber Board of Directors

Earlene Harper, USA(R)

ABS Consulting Group

Board of Directors, President

 

Kenneth Gregory, USA (R)

Bee Gone Agriculture and Construction

Board of Directors

Executive Committee Chairman

 

Derris Small, USA (R)

WorldVentures

Board of Directors

Executive Committee Vice Chairman

 

Anita Wilson

Wilson’s Appliance Repair

Board of Directors

Executive Committee Treasurer

 

Robin Damms

Social Work, CBT

Board of Directors

Executive Committee Secretary/Historian

 

Preston Jones

Jones IT Services/Board of Directors, Director

 

Christmas in Rockfish: We had a great time despite the rain. About 5 pm the rain stopped and lots of folks came out and had a great time and Over 55 kids came thru the Santa House and enjoyed seeing Santa and Mrs Claus. Our friend Mike Fazzino sent in this great pic of their home decorated for the holidays.

santaedit2

fazinno edit 2

 

COMMUNITY CALENDAR: If you have something to post in the Community Calendar, please email Hal Nunn at nunnboys@yahoo.com.

HOKE COUNTY FAIR 2018: Hoke County Fair 2018 will be September 25-30, 2018 NEW Carnival and Midway provided by Locally Owned and Operated; Michael’s Amusements Inc. (Fayetteville NC) See Their Web Site Here: www.michaelsamusementsinc.com For info about the Fair, Email Hal at nunnboys@yahoo.com
We’ll be Seeking Sponsors, Vendors, Exhibits, Entertainment and more ! This will be the 2nd Year of the Hoke County Fair ! Lumbee River EMC has already signed on as one of our Title Sponsors ! We’ll have a great time in Rockfish.

Memorial Day Celebration will be May 26, 2018 at the Rockfish Speedway and Fairgrounds. They are also seeking Sponsors, Vendors, Exhibits, Entertainment and more ! Contact Dawn at 910-852-2564

SIGN UP to receive our Newsletter VIA EMAIL  Click Link Below

HERE

 

Rockfish Review December 2017

Rockfish Review December 2017

WOW ! There is A LOT to cover in this month’s Rockfish Review!

  1. ROCKFISH CHRISTMAS TREE LIGHTING will take place Tuesday December 5, 2017 at 6:00 p.m. down at the intersection of Rockfish Road and Lindsay Road at the Monument in the Rockfish Community. We would like to THANK Brownie, Johnny and Mr. Brock for getting the tree and getting it in the ground and Larry Long for Supervising them! Please come if you can.

IMG_3297

 

  1. THE ROCKFISH COMMUNITY CHAMBER and CAMP ROCKFISH are having our Christmas Social on December 7, 2017 from 5:30 p.m. until, (Approx. 60 People have signed up to come) located at 226 Camp Rockfish Road, Parkton, NC 28371. The dress will be business casual. A Donation to the Chamber is required at $2.50 for Chamber Members and $3.00 from non-members. We will have, Finger Foods, Live Entertainment, Silent Auction and Door prizes. To reserve your spot, CALL 910-479-4775 and if not answered, leave a message or email Rockfishchamber@gmail.com.

ChamberSocial

 

 

  1. CHRISTMAS IN ROCKFISH will be held at 2950 Lindsay Rd. Rockfish NC 28376 at the Rockfish Flea Market and Fairgrounds from 4-7 pm. This event is open to all community members and business vendors are welcome! Business Vendors can set up ALL DAY at Rockfish Flea Market and Fairgrounds but the main event is happening from 4-7 pm as we will have a very Special Visitor from the North Pole! You can get your pictures taken with Santa, Sleigh Rides, Sing Christmas Carols, Hot Chocolate, Non-Alcoholic Gluhwein, Christmas Cookies, Cake Walk and Desserts. We will have a Family Christmas Movie at 7 pm. ALL VENDORS Welcome Call Dawn at 910-852-2564 to reserve your spot.

 

 

  1. RIBBON CUTTING: We Welcome PPI Insurance to the Rockfish Community Chamber and they had a Ribbon Cutting last weekend. In photo L-R, Ken Gregory-Chairman Rockfish Chamber, Aceama McNeil, Pastor Jerry McNeill, Hoke Commissioner Tony Hunt, Back Center Santana Butler, Front Center Porchia Chavis (owner), Jannett Melendez, Derris Small-Rockfish Chamber Vice Chair. If your business would like to join the Rockfish Community Chamber, please give them a call 910-479-4775 or email Rockfishchamber@gmail.com

PPIribbon

 

  1. BACKPACK BUDDY PROGRAM: In photo Rockfish Chamber President Ken Gregory presented Sarah Whitaker with food from the Chamber for the Backpack Buddy Program at Tabernacle Baptist Church. Ms. Brock was also involved with the great program that helps feed kids on the weekend who attend Rockfish Area schools. DROP OFF Point for Backpack Buddy Program is Rockfish Town Hall 2950 Lindsay Rd. Rockfish NC 28376 during normal business hours and at Tabernacle Baptist Church and Brock Realty.

BackPackBuddy

 

  1. DSS and ROCKFISH CHAMBER: The Rockfish Community Chamber donated Holiday Turkey’s to Hoke County DSS to go to a deserving family in the Rockfish Community. THANK YOU EVERYONE for your support of this well needed program. L-R, Derris Small-Rockfish Community Chamber Vice Chair, Carolyn Lloyd-Adult Medicaid Supervisor, Christy Hunter Myers-Income Maintenance Caseworker I (Family and Children’s Medicaid), Dora McCallum-Income Maintenance Supervisor, Brandy Patterson-Income Maintenance Caseworker I (Adult Medicaid).

DSS Turkeys

 

  1. SCOUT MASTERS: This photo was submitted to our History Wall at Rockfish Town Hall building and it ran in The News-Journal. Scoutmaster B.B. Cole presents an American Flag to Cecil McKeithan of the Rockfish Boy Scout Troop while other Boy Scouts look on. In the picture front row L-R, B.B. Cole and Cecil McKeithan. Second Row L-R, ET Brock, Jimmy Wood, Ronald Stephens and Gerald Pittman. Third row L-R, Ralph Stephens, Curtis Hardin, Clarence Koonce (Assistant Scout Master), Grady Hardin and David Tyler.

Scouts

 

  1. Re-Imagined Open House and Toys for Tots: They will have an Open House all day during the Christmas in Rockfish December 9 and they are collecting Toys for Tots at their location in Rockfish.

Snapseed (2)

 

 

  1. CHAMBER MEMBERSHIPS: There are 3 levels of memberships in the Rockfish Community Chamber. For Profit Business: $55, Non-Profit Business $45, Rockfish Community Chamber Friend $25. Here are our Current List of Members: Tolston Tee’s, Hoke Auto Outlet, Shepley Automotive, Family Chiropractic, Rockfish Pharmacy, PPI Insurance, Brownies 24-Hour Towing, Delphi Tactical, Bee Gone Professional Bee Extraction, Cakes and Koloskies, Wilson’s Appliance Repair, ABS Consulting, Derris Small-Individual, Preston Jones-Individual. If you would like to join, please call 910-479-4775 or email rockfishchamber@gmail.com

 

  1. ROADS and INCORPORATION: We are still working on the stop lights and road issues with DOT and are looking forward to them coming to an agreement on what is going to happen around our community. Our incorporation process is continuing, and Rep Garland Peirce has sent us a letter of support in these efforts.

 

  1. BOARD SWEARING IN: at the November 2017 Rockfish Community Board Meeting, the Board Members were Sworn in. Gary Leviner Pastor of Rockfish Church of God handled the swearing in and the bible used in the Oath belonged to long time community member Hattie Chason. L-R, Gary Leviner, John Wilson, Larry Chason, E.T. Brock, William “Brownie” Brown, Janice Griffie, Mike Fazzino and Carlos Boles. Not Pictured was Dennis Raikakos.

IMG_2708 (1)

 

  1. NEWSLETTER: Starting in January 2018, the Rockfish Community Board along with the Rockfish Chamber of Commerce will be publishing a printed newsletter that will be circulated at local businesses in the community. (500 Copies). The newsletter will also be online and on Facebook. We are seeking businesses and individuals to help us make this happen by purchasing an advertisement that will go in the newsletter and online. Two sizes of ads are Business Card size $100 and ¼ page size for $150. If you would like to help out, please notify Earlene Harper harper58@gmail.com or Hal Nunn at nunnboys@yahoo.com. Opportunities to Sponsor the newsletter can be done in 3 month increments for a discounted price.

PLEASE SHARE this newsletter with your friends and family and recommend people that you know in our community to JOIN THE NEWSLETTER by clicking on link below or CLICK HERE>  CLICK

Come Be a Part of Something GREAT and Help Your Community Grow !

Editor: Hal Nunn – Email: nunnboys@yahoo.com

Contributor: Earlene Harper – Email: Earlene.harper58@gmail.com

Rockfish Review Nov 6, 2017

Happy November from Rockfish Community Board and Rockfish Chamber
November 6, 2017
The next Rockfish Community Board meeting will be Thursday November 9, 2017 beginning at 6:30 p.m. at 2950 Lindsay Road Raeford, NC 28376 in the Rockfish Community. We will be giving away another $125 Flashlight and a $25 Walmart Gift Card.
—If you have New Business, please come early and sign up to speak.
—Topics: Incorporation Status, DOT Update, Food Drive for Families and Children, Guest Speaker, Light Up Rockfish Monument, Community Chamber Accepting Members, Chamber Christmas Social at Camp Rockfish, Registering to Vote, Fire Academy Training, Red Light at Arabia and Rockfish, Old Wire and Shannon Rd, Street Signs at Gillis Hill & Lindsay, Speed Limit Lindsay, Tabernacle Church Driveway,.
—-Community Chamber has been approved and is accepting Memberships for Individuals $20, Non-Profit $25, Business $55. We are planning a great Christmas Social at Camp Rockfish to benefit the Community.
—Schools Back Pack Program we are collecting single serve food for children of Rockfish-Hoke and Sandy Grove Elementary. DROP OFF POINT at Town Hall, 2950 Lindsay rd.
—Chamber Introducing new program called Rockfish Cares
—-Beautification Committee discussing ways to clean up Rockfish
—-CHRISTMAS IN ROCKFISH… yes we are planning a Christmas in Rockfish event to include, Pictures with Santa, Community Christmas Tree, Slay Rides, Gluhwein (non-alcohol), Coffee, Hot Chocolate, Crumb Cakes, Christmas Cookies, Raise Money/Gifts for Needy Family, Christmas Music/Carole’s and Christmas Movie.
Come Be a Part of our Growing Community !!!

Rockfish Review September 29, 2017

WOW! The Hoke County Fair at Rockfish has come and gone! What a tremendous event and yes, we had some bumps in the road but we got thru it and learned a whole heck of a lot. YES, we do plan to continue the fair next year. THANK YOU to everyone who helped. IT WAS A GROUP EFFORT!!  Thank Ed Clemente for helping edit the photo below. Hal Nunn photo
IMG_1421
Our next Rockfish Community Meeting will be October 12 at 6:30 p.m. (We will be giving away two gift cards for Walmart one for $75 and one for $25.) Here is some of the topics: DOT will not be here but they have given us more info on, Lindsay rd Closure, Gillis Hill and Lindsay, Arabia Road, Rockfish Road.
The Rockfish Community Chamber is holding a Coloring Contest and has developed prices to join. Individual Membership is $20, Non-Profit is $25, Business is $55 and Friend of the Chamber is $25. Please see our Facebook Page, Rockfish Community Board for more info.
The Raeford-Hoke Public Library now has a Book Nook at the Rockfish Flea Market. Children and adults can check out or purchase books cheap.
Don’t Forget Flea Market is open Thursday-Sunday, inside and outside spots.
Rockfish Pack and Ship, saves you time and money. Stop by for all mailing and packaging needs.
OCTOBER FEST in Rockfish! We will be hosting a October Fest in the field next to the flea market. Old Fashioned Style! We need churches and business to help with Trunk or Treats and help setting up Maze, Hay Rides, Bobbing for Apples, Candy, Games, Cake and Pie Walk and more. Check with Dawn about this. Her number is 910-852-2564
COMMUNITY WATCH PROGRAM: some discussion has been brought up about starting a Community Watch Program. Come to the meeting on 12th to discuss.
TABERNACLE BAPTIST CHURCH: annual homecoming is October 15, 2017 at 11:00 a.m. service followed by luncheon and Gospel Singing.
BEE KEEPING; Bee Gone is a family owned and operated business. They remove unwanted wiled hives from homes and commercial buildings, and also
manage local “Honey Hives.” They participated at the Hoke County
Fair and are providing a series of articles concerning honey bees to
the “Rockfish Review.” Introduction to Article One: The Autumn Bee
The little insect, known as the honey bee, pollinates your garden and
draws nectar from blooms and blossoms. Autumn is the time of year that
the beekeeper will bed down the honey hive for the winter. The hive
is inspected for pests and other problems that would cause the hive to
“die” over the winter months. After the inspection is completed the
bees will seal their box for a cozy home. The bee keepers of “Bee
Gone” urge all home gardeners not to use powdered insecticides, such
as Seven Dust. It is very hazardous to the honey bee population and
will kill a bee hive over the winter. Contact Bee Gone at (910) 797-6940.
Don’t forget we Rockfish Flags, License Plates and Decals ! Show Support for your Community !  Become informed and REGISTER TO VOTE !